Poker Face?

NaBloPoMo – Day Two

My Poker Face

Woman of Mystery?

I’m baaaccckkk and pondering if I am an “open book” or do I “hide my feelings well?”  After contemplating this for oohhh about one second, Lady GaGa popped into my head and now her melodic  prose is playing on a loop, “Poker Face”

Can’t read my, can’t read my
No he can’t read my poker face
(She’s got to love nobody)
Can’t read my, can’t read my
No he can’t read my poker face
(She’s got to love nobody)

P-p-p-poker face, p-p-poker face
(Mum mum mum mah)
P-p-p-poker face, p-p-poker face
(Mum mum mum mah)
(Mum mum mum mah)
(Mum mum mum mah)

Basically, I should probably not cash my lot aside and move to Vegas or Reno to amass great winnings…………….. it would be a really bad idea.  Not just because I am the only one in my house who can find everything from homework to athletic supporters but because I lack a huge skill set for the Black Jack Table……… a Poker Face. 

Do not have one, never have, probably never will.  Yes, there have been times in my life when this was a real problem.  My Dad used to call it “wearing my heart on my sleeve.”  Which I think was his translation of teenage girl with too many “hurt” feelings.  So, yes,  I have toughened up A LOT  (did I mention he also didn’t raise a quitter?).  Am I an “open book”?  More than likely, yes.

Has being an “open book” always been a good thing?  No, it has not.  I think having a “Poker Face” requires a certain amount of sophistication.  Another skill set I seem to be missing.  However, this openness has also been a blessing.  If I was all sophisticated I can think of many, many dear friends I would not have had the pleasure of convincing to love me.  Because when you meet me, what you see is what you get…………..or so I’ve been told.

3 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo

3 responses to “Poker Face?

  1. “Poker face” was the first thing to come to my mind too 🙂

    I think having a Poker face in daily life is just one of many coping strategies people have and while I think I have a sort of poker face I don’t think it works incredibly well…my eyes will always betray me! In that respect I would be a terrible poker player too!

  2. Mary Malinowski

    Amy, you are a gift, poler face or not. You do have a high level of sophistication. You were the best person ever to take to a party where we knew no one because…by the end of the night, wherever you stood, was the center of the party! I love you!

  3. Jeanne

    Amy, I loved you from the moment I met you….you and that smile ! I remember learning soon that your father is correct you would wear your heart on your sleeve. I loved it and that is how I got to know you so quickly and love you so much. At times I wanted to protect you when others wounded the heart that was there on your sleeve, but I have come to find out that you don’t need my protection just my presence beside you. And that my dear has been a blessing for me. I have learned what a strong, loving, beautiful soul you are! thank you!
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

