Light O Mine

Light of our Lives!

This little light of mine
I’m going to let it shine.
This little light of mine
I’m going to let it shine.-
Let it shine, let it shine
Let it shine.

I received a notice that today was Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remberance Day.  We were asked to light a candle at 7 p.m. (whatever time zone you are) and let it burn for at least an hour.  There would then be a wave of light to remember all of these beautiful Little Souls who left their Mommy’s, Daddy’s and families way too soon, either before they ever drew a breath or their breath  suddenly, one day, stopped.

Our Sweet Baby Girl got to be with us for 16 months.  Sixteen months that were filled with many ups, downs and touch and go moments.  The reward, HER………….. Sweet Madeline.  She was a light, whose flame immediately lit up any room.  The flame so intense it filled your heart and soul with peace and joy.  Unexplainable joy!  Just look at that sweet face!

So today, at 7, I lit my candle, placed it by Madeline’s picture and stood and stared.  My heart heavy with grief, yet still basking in her light.  The power of love, unconditional love.  God called her home yet left us with the gift of her eternal flame.

Today I am pondering the Beauty of Madeline and how much I share on social media.”  My answer………………..A LOT.  More than most, not as much as some.  Social media has been somewhat of a saving grace for me.  Yes, such grief and loss is deeply personal and very difficult to share with people one on one.  Social Media gives me the freedom to share  as much or as little as I like.  I tend to not view it as strangers reading my story but that I am just putting it out there.  Unloading a little burden, trying to lighten my load and find my way.  Whoever chooses to read, may.  Putting my grief and loss in words, much like a story, gives some meaning to such sadness.

My sharing helps me keep her Memory alive and that others know her life, though short was full.  Full of love and a little light that continues to shine.

2 Comments

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Precious Baby Girl

2 responses to “Light O Mine

  1. I am so incredibly sorry for your loss and I feel privileged that you are willing to share about your beautiful Madeline. Keep writing, keep posting, keep inspiring us. When I read your blog I am reminded to savor every moment… Thank you for pulling me back from the trivial stressors of my day and reminding me to love, hug, and appreciate my babies.

  2. Bridget

    Thank you for sharing, Amy. Madeline’s little light will never go out. She was a gift to this world.

Leave a Reply

