A Picture Worth a Thousand Words

First Embrace!

Sweet Baby Girl!  It is redundant but I LOVE THIS PICTURE!  There are days when all I want to do is gaze at photos of Madeline and let my mind go back to the fleeting time we were blessed with her presence.  Brief, yet powerful.  Filled with such emotion.

Today’s quest?  “Tell us about your profile picture.”  My pleasure…………………….

This picture is a definite favorite.   She was 4 months old and this was her third life-saving surgery.

When I look at this photo I don’t immediately call to mind the horrific terror of  that week.  I remember the joy.  You can see it in my face.  This photo is of Madeline and I about 7 days after she received her trach.  She was soooo fragile and her life had been so touch and go that week.  To let her weary little body rest and  protect her airway, she had been in a  heavily sedated state for days.  We had been unable to touch, let alone hold her.  So, imagine my joy when finally we got see her beautiful eyes and touch her petal soft skin.

Sitting here writing this, I can remember.  I closed my eyes and I can recall the touch of her little hands and the feel of her cheeks on my lips.  It was such a joyous moment.  In fact, I was so caught up in it, it was her Respiratory Therapist that grabbed my camera and took the picture.

Such a scary week it had been.  This was the time we thought we might lose her.  But this was our time.  Our time when our prayers were answered.  Confirmation of our hope, faith and a belief that miracles can happen and this cherised photo is my tangible link to that once upon a time when our miracle happened.   

Leave a comment

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Precious Baby Girl

Leave a Reply

