Purple promises

Empty Promises

My new running shoes!!!  Awesome, huh?  That’s what I thought.  But alas, like many things lately, I expected too much.

They have me remembering the good ol days.  You know the ones, when a new pair of tennies cured all that ailed you.  If you were slow, BAM! New shoes and you swear your legs move so fast, the Olympic Committee can’t be far behind.  A Wheaties contract is for sure in your future.

Feeling Blue?  New tennies and BAM!  Cloud nine is your new home!  Nothing could keep you down with some new tread on your feet.  Maybe the World could be a happier place,  new tennies for everyone!

All this………….I got from a new pair of SCATS, back in THE DAY.  Imagine my expectations for PURPLE NIKES!?  That’s right………..me and reality…………..we lost touch.  Turns out 5 miles still feels 20 miles.  My legs………weeellll, they still aren’t up to my neck and graceful, like a gazelle.  Yep, still short, and graceful, weellll, NOT like a gazelle, THAT’S for sure.

As for that CLOUD NINE feeling…………I wish, I wish, with my whole being that I still believed happiness could be found in a new pair of shoes.  What I wouldn’t give for the happy Purple color to  take away this unbearable weight of grief and gray.  The most I can hope for is that they carry me away.  Away from this pain that seems to render me immobile and to a place where memories take the weight from my steps and turn the gray to gold.

NOW THAT…………….weellll, that, sadly, is something money can’t buy.  But if it could………………….ooooh, if it could……………….

Leave a comment

Filed under NaBloPoMo, Precious Baby Girl

Leave a Reply

